The Unsigned Music Awards (often referred to as “UMA” or “The UMAs“) is an international televised awards ceremony held annually to recognise the achievements of artists that are not signed to a record label, are yet to be discovered or have chosen to remain proudly independent. The awards are part of UMA Music Group and were established in 2016 by Simon O’Kelly, Georgina Thomas and Ben Connor.

The first ceremony was held at the Troxy Theatre in London on Thursday 27 October 2016 and will be held annually each year to recognise and champion the continued growth and successes of the emerging music sector.

Since 2016, the awards have been co-hosted by Laura Whitmore of MTV and Chris Stark who is best known as the co-host of The Scott Mills Show on BBC Radio 1.

Through our partnership with the UMAs we are delighted to announce that the winner of SALUTE will go straight into the finals of the songwriting category in next years Unsigned Music Awards. Read more about that here.